## Cowley County Extension Council 2018 Annual Meeting Minutes

**December 4, 2018** 

The Cowley County Extension Council Annual Meeting was held at 6:00 p.m. on December 4, 2018, at the Winfield Public Library meeting room in Winfield, Kansas. The welcome was given by Mike Legako. The invocation was given by Jessie Bradley. The group adjourned briefly for dinner.

With many heartfelt thanks, Mike Legako presented the Extension Appreciation Award to Dawn and Barry Schmidt of Schmidt & Sons for their continued support of Cowley County extension.

Extension Agents Kelsey Nordyke, Becky Reid and Elizabeth Espino each presented highlights of 2018 about their respective accomplishments.

Acting secretary, Julie Swanson, called roll for the 2018 and 2019 Cowley County Extension Boards (\* indicates their presence at the meeting):

**Agriculture -** Justin Brazle, Phillip Bruce\*, Russell Gottlob\*, Mike Legako\*, Darrell Long, Bill Mueller\* 2018 - Brad Bryant, Carrol Campbell.

FCS - Ruth Bumgarner\*, Janet Davidson\*, Liz Lawrence\*, Stephanie Mackey, Rocio Peirce, Julie Swanson\*, 2018 - Julie McClure.

**4-H -** Jessie Bradley\*, Craig Depenbusch\*, Angie Krepps\*, Amanda Mugler, Sarah Tatum\*, Brett Thomson\*, 2018 - Brett Brown\*.

**Community Development -** Will Abernathy\*, Brian Biddle, James Jirak\*, Grady Martin, Craig Pringle\*, Sarah Werner, 2018- Marian Hedges\*, Dustin Quint. Mike Legako gave gifts of thanks to outgoing members - Brett Brown and Marian Hedges for their service on the Executive Board.

Mike Legako presented the Nominating Committee report of the slate of officer and members names: Chairman - Mike Legako, Vice Chairman - James Jirak, Secretary -Stephanie Mackey, Treasurer - Bill Mueller, Board Members - Will Abernathy, Jessie Bradley, Phillip Bruce, Julie Swanson and Brett Thomson. Marian Hedges moved and Jessie Bradley seconded to accept this slate of officers and members unanimously. Motion carried.

Brett Thomson moved and Craig Depenbusch seconded a motion to secure a Treasurer's Bond from United Agency for \$150,000.

New members of the Executive Board were informed they must go to the County Clerk's Office to accept and swear in the Oath of Office.

The Program Development Committees met briefly to select officers for their groups.

Agriculture- Chair - Bill Mueller; Vice Chair - Mike Legako, Secretary - Russell Gottlob.

FCS - Chair - Liz Lawrence, Vice Chair - Ruth Bumgarner, Secretary - Julie Swanson

4-H Chair - Angie Krepps, Vice Chair - Jessie Bradley, Secretary - Sarah Tatum

Community Development - Chair - Sarah

Werner, Vice Chair - Craig Pringle, Secretary - Brian Biddle

Adjournment time was 7:25 p.m.

2019 Extension Council Executive Board: Will Abernathy, Phillip Bruce, Brett Thomson, Jessie Bradley, Bill Mueller, Mike Legako, Julie Swanson, James Jirak. Not pictured: Stephanie Mackey.

